Operation Migration – The Dreaded Weather

Everything was going so well. There was an extended period of perfect flying conditions and everything seemed to be running smoothly. Once the three groups of birds have learned to fly they are then brought together to make one flock. Once together they must organise themselves into a hierarchy before they can carry on. This [...]

By |2017-01-21T05:29:16+00:00October 26th, 2009|Uncategorized|1 Comment

Update on the Pix Controller Wildlife Webcam

The PixController wildlife webcam recently has been updated with Hotspots. This has been a great addition to the camera as it allows people to view videos clips of action they missed during the day. This coupled with the addition of an upgraded and better PTZ camera they've been able to capture some amazing fall action [...]

By |2016-06-18T08:10:40+00:00October 19th, 2009|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Update on the Pix Controller Wildlife Webcam

Whooping Crane Migration

There are 21 cranes in the class of 2009 and group dynamics have been very interesting. The pecking order on the ground is often very different than in the air with the roles of dominance swapping around. 924 has been the biggest bully of the group this year and 925 the meekest and most timid. [...]

By |2017-01-21T05:29:16+00:00October 14th, 2009|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Whooping Crane Migration

Marc’s Race

Marc got out there and worked very hard, but unfortunately he was not able to catch up with Pieter's score. He did come second, and I guess he can't win every race. :)Well done Marc for getting 45 positively identified animals with a spine!15h35 Red-billed Buffalo-weaver 15h35 Brubru 15h35 Yellow-billed Hornbill 15h35 Southern Black Tit [...]

By |2016-06-18T08:10:46+00:00October 1st, 2009|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Marc’s Race

Drive times

Summer is well and truly here and so the sun is rising earlier and setting later.This is when WE change our drive times. The morning drive will go our half an hour earlier at 05h30CAT (03h30GMT, 23h30 EST, 20h30PST) and the afternoon drive will also leave half an hour later at 16h00CAT (14h00GMT, 10h00EST, 07h00PST). [...]

By |2016-06-18T08:10:48+00:00October 1st, 2009|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Drive times