The Meerkat Neighbourhood: Part 1 – Non-threatening birds

Welcome to Part 1 of my Kalahari exploration series where we explore the surroundings in which our Kalahari meerkats reside. In this episode we will gaze skywards and take a closer look at the feathered friendlies of the Kalahari. These avian action heroes can be found on the ground or sky-high above our meerkat groups [...]

By |2017-11-26T19:43:40+00:00April 24th, 2012|Uncategorized|Comments Off on The Meerkat Neighbourhood: Part 1 – Non-threatening birds

A scientist so cool he even has a rock song after him

As you may well know, life for the WildEarth crew here in the Kalahari is full of meerkats, 3D filming, Live broadcasts, Land Rovers (The Ganda!), laundry, good meals, Land Rovers (Still the Ganda!), porcupines, snakes, tech issues, signal towers, daily shifts and everything else in between. Now it’s a tough job, but we do [...]

By |2017-11-26T19:43:40+00:00April 16th, 2012|Uncategorized|Comments Off on A scientist so cool he even has a rock song after him

Stuttering meerkats

As those of you who watched will no doubt have noticed the streaming of the meerkats from Tswalu hit a snag this week. After a 5 day test period with near-perfect streaming this was very disappointing, not to mention puzzling. We've been doing various tests and have breaking our heads this week to find the [...]

By |2012-04-13T16:32:00+00:00April 13th, 2012|Uncategorized|3 Comments

Meerkats go LIVE

Well after a great deal of work and preparation WildEarth is finally ready to 'go LIVE' with the meerkat cam!From 07h00 CAT (22h00 PST | 01h00 EST | 05h00 GMT) tomorrow morning the 6th April 2012 WE will be broadcasting the lives of the Gosa meerkat gang (www.facebook.com/Gosa.meerkat.gang) LIVE from Tswalu (www.tswalu.com), in the southern [...]

By |2017-11-26T19:43:41+00:00April 5th, 2012|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Meerkats go LIVE